OopsVegan

Top 15 Accidentally Vegan Foods to Satisfy Your Junk Food Cravings

accidentally vegan food

Vegan or not, we ALL have moments when we just want to snack on something not-so-healthy. Even though here at Oops Vegan we will always advocate for a well-balanced, whole foods diet as the most sustainable and healthy vegan eating pattern, we are human and have our vegan junk food moments, too! That’s why we’re glad to know all of the products on this list are vegan-friendly. You’ll be shocked at some of these! Keep reading to find out which accidentally vegan foods you can munch on during your cheat days!

Disclaimer: Many of these products contain refined sugar, which may or may not be considered vegan, as it is sometimes refined using animal bone char. However, there are no traces of actual bone char in the sugar itself, which makes it a controversial ingredient for vegans. Also, while some food dyes, like red #40 and yellow #6 do not contain animal-derived ingredients, they are considered carcinogenic in large amounts and have been initially tested on animals. If these are concerns, try staying away from the snacks listed that contain refined white sugar and food dyes in their ingredients list.

Nature Valley Peanut Butter/Cinnamon Crunchy Granola Bars

Not only is this bar deliciously indulgent, the ingredients are also surprisingly natural! Take it along for a quick source of energy when you’re on the run.

Back to Nature Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Another relatively natural choice, these cookies are perfect for parties, movie nights, and as an occasional cheeky treat!

Lay’s Original Barbecue Chips

Though not for daily consumption, chips are a vegan’s best friend when craving something indulgent. Good to know when out with friends or when going on a picnic!

Kellogg’s Club Original Crackers

Need the perfect buttery-tasting, crunchy cracker for your vegan chickpea ‘tuna’ salad? These are a great, widely available choice. And none of the cholesterol found in dairy butter!

Pillsbury Original Crescent Rolls

The buttery, flaky goodness in these rolls is totally plant-based! There are so many ways to use these babies, from regular croissants, to ‘empanadas’, to puff pastries!

Oreos

Yes, oreos can be considered vegan! Surprised? Although the Oreo website states that the cookies have milk as cross contact, these possible traces are only due to the fact that the equipment Oreos are processed on are also used to process foods that contain dairy milk. Oreo is required to mention this for those who have milk allergies, and thus cannot consider their cookies vegan, but most vegans overlook this, since milk is not an ingredient in Oreos, and we are not contributing to the demand of dairy milk by purchasing these cookies. Still, skip this one if it’s a concern!

Twizzlers

No, Twizzlers do not contain gelatin! Enjoy these in moderation — they can be addictive! 😋

Unfrosted Pop Tarts

Looking for a quick breakfast to take on your next trip? This unfrosted sweet pastry could be the way to go! Just watch out for frosted Pop Tarts, as they do contain dairy. (You can always add your own homemade vegan frosting!)

Cracker Jack

Good news! The original version of this classic favorite is 100% vegan — no controversial ingredients. Snack away!

Chocolate Teddy Grahams

We’ve all enjoyed Teddy Grahams as kids. The great news is that you can continue to indulge in these crunchy, chocolatey cookies even as a vegan!

Little Brownie Bakers Thin Mints

If you love Girl Scout Cookies, these are for you! Just keep in mind that these can come from two different kitchens — the Little Brownie Bakers variety is made with vegan ingredients, though they are processed on equipment that also processes non-vegan ingredients.

Airheads

Though candy may be considered a kid’s snack, we adults love sweets, too! When enjoyed in great moderation, Airheads can be a sweet vegan treat!

Nutter Butter

Yes, these highly addictive and indulgent cookies are vegan-friendly! If you loved them before going vegan, you don’t have to let them go! Simply enjoy in moderation, and know they do contain palm oil, another controversial ingredient for vegans.

Justin’s Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups

Peanut butter and chocolate? Name a better combo! This option is surprisingly natural, and entirely vegan!

Progress Over Perfection

Vegans don’t have to fit into a specific mold. If you have a super busy schedule, or simply love enjoying indulgent snacks every once in a while, you don’t have to stick to a 100% natural, whole foods, unprocessed diet all the time. Most of these snacks are widely available no matter where you are, and can help your vegan journey feel a lot less overwhelming. With this list, we hope to show you that veganism is not restrictive, and you don’t have to let go of all the treats you previously enjoyed! In fact, it’s often a great opportunity to discover new, delicious foods you’d never tried before, and experiment with nutritious ingredients and substitutes! Remember, it’s better to have a world full of imperfect vegans, than just a handful of perfect ones.

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!

Add comment

Leave your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our complete program to succeed at living a healthy plant-based lifestyle

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!