OopsVegan

Is The Beyond Burger Vegan?

is beyong burger vegan

The simple answer to this question is a resounding ‘yes.’ The Beyond Burger’s ingredients are:

  • Pea protein
  • Canola oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Brown rice
  • Cocoa butter
  • Mung bean protein
  • Methylcellulose
  • Potato starch
  • Apple extract
  • Salt
  • Potassium chloride
  • Vinegar
  • Lemon juice concentrate
  • Sunflower lecithin
  • Pomegranate powder
  • Beet juice extract

Unlike the Impossible Burger, none of Beyond Meat’s ingredients have been tested on animals. The confusion may arise due to the similarities between both products. However, Beyond Meat does not use soy heme or ‘leghemoglobin’ (tested on animals to receive FDA approval), which gives the Impossible Burger its distinct meaty color and flavor. (More on the Impossible Burger here.) This makes the Beyond Burger unquestionably vegan.

The Beyond Burger is currently available in 8 supermarket chains, and 62 different food service locations! Just watch out for added ingredients like mayo, cheese, and mayo-based sauces. You can also purchase this vegan burger online, right here.

For more plant-based burger suggestions, check out our complete guide to vegan burgers!

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!

Add comment

Leave your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our complete program to succeed at living a healthy plant-based lifestyle

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!