OopsVegan

Is The Impossible Burger Vegan?

Is The Impossible Burger Vegan

The Impossible Burger is a plant-based patty that tastes almost exactly like meat. However, is it vegan? While we can confirm that no animal-derived ingredients are used in the production of Impossible Burgers, we can’t be too sure you’ll consider them 100% vegan. In short, it all depends on your own standards. Keep reading to find out why!

Impossible Foods was founded in 2011, with the objective of mimicking the taste and texture of meat, using solely plants. However, the real breakthrough for this company was their secret ingredient, ‘soy heme’ or ‘soy leghemoglobin’, which is greatly responsible for their burgers’ color and flavor. They were able to develop this ingredient using soybeans, an FDA-approved food. However, this extract had not yet been approved, meaning they would have to go through their GRAS (generally regarded as safe) approval process in order to sell the Impossible Burger. Unfortunately, this also means that soy heme had to undergo animal testing.

Therefore, if you believe that the animal testing performed on soy heme renders Impossible Foods’ products non-vegan, you’ll want to skip these products. Discover more burger substitutes here! However, if you believe that the good Impossible Foods has done for the animals outweighs the harm caused by soy heme’s FDA approval process, you will still be saving many animals by choosing plant products over meat.

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!

Add comment

Leave your comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Check out our complete program to succeed at living a healthy plant-based lifestyle

Patricia Maroday

Hi I'm Patricia. Certified vegan lifestyle Coach. I’m here to help you eat more plants, discover ethical products, help the planet and feel amazing!